× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Graham Avenue Submerged Gravel Wetland

Location:  Berlin, Maryland
Client:  Town of Berlin

Graham Avenue Submerged Gravel Wetland with SignThe Town of Berlin converted vacant land that once housed an electrical substation into a submerged gravel wetland as part of its ongoing effort to reduce flooding from stormwater runoff and improve water quality in the receiving Maryland coastal bays. EA provided planning, design, grant funding support, and construction oversight for the award-winning project.

Historically, the Town had experienced flooding during small storm events with a minimal amount of rainfall. With the increased threat of extreme weather caused by climate change, the community was concerned about safety, potential effects on critical facilities, erosion to waterway banks, and disruptions to emergency responders from flooding within the streets and residences.

As part of ongoing efforts to address concerns, a stormwater best management practice was planned for a small property along Graham Avenue. This submerged gravel wetland is an example of green infrastructure, an approach to water management that protects, restores, or mimics the natural water cycle. It serves the dual purpose of storing stormwater runoff and provides a small-scale filter using wetland plants in a rock media to provide water quality treatment.

Plan View of Graham Avenue Submerged Gravel Wetland

At the Graham Avenue facility, runoff that drains into the wetland is dispersed throughout the system and released as treated water. Pollutant removal is attained through biological uptake from algae and bacteria within the wetland media. Wetland plants also provide nutrient uptake.

The project treats approximately 155,000 square feet or 3.55 acres of impervious area with approximately 15,000 cubic feet of stormwater storage. The site receives runoff from heavily trafficked roadways and multiple nearby small commercial businesses and has significantly reduced the severity of flooding in the neighborhood. In addition, treatment through the submerged gravel wetland results in nutrient load reductions of 165 pounds of nitrogen, 16 pounds of phosphorus, and 8,400 pounds of suspended sediment annually.

Post-Construction View of Graham Avenue Submerged Gravel Wetland

The project was completed in partnership with the Town of Berlin; Goody Hill Groundwork, Inc.; and the Maryland Coastal Bays Program. It was supported through generous grant funding from the Chesapeake Bay Trust and Maryland Department of Natural Resources through the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays Trust Fund.


The Maryland Coastal Bays Program honored the Town of Berlin with a Gold Star Award and recognized EA for their Partnership with the Town on the Graham Avenue submerged wetland project.

×

Contact Us

Name

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

745 W 4th Avenue
Suite 425
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-646-0220 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Montana

Helena

54 North Last Chance Gulch
Suite 14
Helena, MT 59601
Catherine LeCours P: 406-936-0022 clecours@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

Omaha

7836 Wakeley Plaza
Omaha, NE 68114
Craig Johnson P: 402-817-7664 craigjohnson@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks