× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

NPS Coastal Engineering and Hazards Support

Client:                   National Park Service Coastal Geology Program

Location:              Nationwide

NPS Coastal GeologyThe Coastal Geology Program of the Geologic Resources Division within the National Park Service (NPS) provides expertise to help coastal units within the National Park System address coastal geology, hazards, and climate change adaptation and resilience challenges. Through an on-call coastal engineering and hazards assistance task order, EA supports specific NPS needs, including:

  • Coastal, natural, and cultural resource inventories and impact assessments
  • Protection and planning for change in vulnerable low-lying coastal lands
  • Monitoring of coastal change
  • Protection and planning for impacts due to climate change
  • Coastal engineering concept or design development, including natural and nature-based features, dredging, beach nourishment, and storm surge barriers
  • Regulatory compliance documentation including for the National Environmental Policy Act
  • Documentation and analysis of incident response and recovery
  • Technical expertise to assist with associated training programs

Tasks have included:

Bear Island Light Station; Acadia National Park, Maine—Storm surge has caused erosion and damage to the granite block foundation of the 1889 boat house. The team reviewed the site impacts and provided alternatives to improve resilience, including the completion of rough order of magnitude cost estimate for each alternative.

San Juan Island National Historical Park, Washington—Located on San Juan Island, which has long been inhabited by indigenous people, the park is experiencing erosion along several stretches that will require the development of shoreline protection, including the English Camp site along the northwestern edge of the island. Shoreline protection possibilities were developed and reviewed to identify options that could be implemented, considering the cultural and historic needs of the site. The EA Team assessed vulnerabilities due to sea level rise and provided a rough order of magnitude cost for shoreline protection options, which included nature-based solutions.

Coastal Shoreline Monitoring Options for National Park Units in the Great Lakes Area—Over the past two decades, the Great Lakes have undergone rapid changes in water levels, reaching historic low levels in the mid-2000s before rebounding to historic high levels in 2019/2020. Due to climate change, these water level fluctuations are expected to become more frequent and extreme. EA responded to requests for assistance in reviewing shoreline monitoring options for Great Lakes parks and facilitating related discussions about the objectives, pros, cons, and costs associated with each option—culminating with a report that outlined processes and potential techniques to effectively monitor shoreline changes in the Great Lakes.

College Creek Hydro-Geomorphic Assessment, Colonial National Historical Park, Virginia—Options for Colonial National Historical Park to reduce flow velocity where College Creek joins the James River were reviewed to assess adequacy and functionality of proposed management options. The team reviewed the hydrodynamic model output, which used the Semi-Implicit Cross-scale Hydroscience Integrated System Model.

Saint Croix Island International Historic Site, Maine—Saint Croix Island has experienced continued erosion, and the southern bluff of the island is exposed to a significant fetch and tide range up to 24 feet that could impact grave sites of the 1604 French expedition members. EA conducted a site investigation for nature-based options to stabilize the bluff. Our team brought in the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Engineer Research and Development Center Engineering with Nature® initiative to provide additional resources and aid in additional data collection and consideration of nature-based adaptation options to help stabilize the eroding slope and account for sea level rise.

Various Coastal Review Services at Golden Gate National Recreation Area, California—EA’s services included:

  • At South Ocean Beach, shoreline erosion is threatening the most seaward component of the Lake Merced Tunnel, a 14-foot diameter water pipe. Concept-level designs for a seawall construction were reviewed to assess projected impacts on the adjacent Fort Funston shoreline.
  • An updated stormwater system was designed to mitigate flooding from Easkoot Creek at Stinson Beach. The preliminary design was reviewed to assess resiliency to erosion and climate change impacts.
  • A recent beach boardwalk extension to enhance accessibility at Baker Beach was impacted by sand erosion, creating safety hazards. An updated design was assessed to determine if the new design would avoid future safety hazards in consideration of coastal processes and beach dynamics.

National Park Service Beach Nourishment Guidance Update, Nationwide—EA was tasked with supporting an update to the 2012 Beach Nourishment Guidance to improve procedures, strategies, and protocols. These updates will include expansion on discussion of impacts to nearby ecological resources, a high-level review of costs, coastal resilience considerations, and discussions on standard practices for beach nourishment in the planning, design, and construction phases, as well as other topics.

Fort Pulaski National Monument, Georgia—Located on Cockspur Island, the site is prone to flooding from coastal storms and king tides. The park’s Emergency Operations Plan was being updated, and the park needs to include a strategy to address natural and cultural resources in the context of emergency response and recovery actions. EA developed initial documents, including a checklist for natural and cultural resources and a post-event monitoring plan to address vulnerable resources and assets.

Sitka National Historical Park, Alaska—Restoration planning for the 1804 Battlefield bordering Sitka Sound may impact the tidal margin within the floodplain by removing beached logs and trees. These proposed actions were reviewed based on expected relative mean sea level changes and coastal storm surge to assess the level of risk for erosion associated with the project and whether additional data collection, calculations, or modeling may be warranted.

Gateway National Recreation Area, New York—EA reviewed flood mitigation technology, an environmental assessment for maintenance dredging, and modeling results for coastal resilience projects associated with the site. For the Jacob Riis Bathhouse, the park requested an evaluation of a proposed flood mitigation technology, including review of a flood barrier system under current and future sea level conditions. The team evaluated the USACE environmental assessment for adequacy and to assess if the proposed plan would negatively impact adjacent park lands. The park also requested a review of the USACE modeling reports that quantify impacts on sediment transport for a proposed storm risk reduction project for the Rockaway Inlet, the USACE proposal for initial beach nourishment, and development of project mitigation over the 50-year life cycle.

×

Contact Us

Name

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

745 W 4th Avenue
Suite 425
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-646-0220 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Montana

Helena

54 North Last Chance Gulch
Suite 14
Helena, MT 59601
Catherine LeCours P: 406-936-0022 clecours@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

Omaha

7836 Wakeley Plaza
Omaha, NE 68114
Craig Johnson P: 402-817-7664 craigjohnson@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks