× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Optimizing Municipal ENR Wastewater Treatment Plant Processes

Common Issues, Remedies, and Opportunities for Improving Efficiency

Efficient operation of a municipal enhanced nutrient removal (ENR) wastewater treatment plant requires a fundamental understanding of the various processes and potential issues that could affect treatment outcomes. EA’s EnviTreat laboratory, originally founded in 1995, focuses on treatability evaluations of wastewater—biological, physical, and chemical—as well as operational diagnoses, and process optimization. In this downloadable white paper, Director Matt Frigon, PhD, discusses common issues, remedies, and opportunities for improving operational efficiency based on EnviTreat’s work with both the municipal and industrial wastewater treatment plant processes. Primary findings include, but are not limited to:

  • Reliance on Mixed Liquor Suspended Solids (MLSS) or Mixed Liquor Volatile Suspended Solids (MLVSS) as the main parameter for operational process control can result in poor plant performance.
  • Plant operation using Solids Retention Time (SRT) will enable a system to self-regulate according to loading and conditions.
  • Chemical use surveys are the best and cheapest way to identify toxicity issues related to chemical inputs to the system.
  • Oxygen Uptake Rate (OUR) setpoint control is a potentially effective approach to monitor for and quickly recover from toxic impacts to biological treatment systems.

ENR Wastewater Treatment Plant Process Concerns

Operators typically rely on MLSS or MLVSS concentrations as the primary metric for plant operation without considering active organism percentages. A normal healthy plan would expect 15­‑30 percent of their MLSS to be active organisms. In municipal and industrial plants with long SRTs, the proportion is lower—frequently between 4 and 5 percent. This concern is often observed in membrane bioreactor (MBR) systems. MBRs are regularly operated at mixed liquor concentrations between 8,000 and 12,000 when the loading on the plant does not justify such high solids levels. Most facilities are overdesigned, meaning the plant design MLSS is higher than needed for effective treatment. Unnecessarily high MLSS can have negative impacts on plant performance.

System SRT Calculation and Control

SRT calculations are frequently completed solely using the aeration basin volume instead of the volume of all sludge basins in operation at the plant. Recycle ratios at ENR plants are often set high so that sludge is well mixed throughout the system. Using this parameter only for the aeration basin discharge volume in the calculation results in wasting just a fraction of the amount of sludge needed to maintain a certain SRT. Calculated wasting volume must include the aeration basin, pre- and post-anoxic, and anaerobic/fermentation zones as applicable.

Control can be achieved easily and consistently by wasting directly from the aeration basin. Many plants are set up to waste from the underflow system because the sludge is more concentrated. This reduces the amount of water that must be decanted from the digester. However, the concentration of sludge in underflow is variable and will change with temperature, loading, and flow rate through the plant. By wasting from the aeration basin, the system will self-adjust the MLSS to maintain a consistent SRT, which helps maximize performance of the treatment reactor.

Toxic Impact of Chemicals

Although toxic chemicals primarily impact industrial plants, they also may play a role in municipal systems that accept industrial discharges. These include municipal systems receiving influent from sources, such as landfill leachates, that are similar to industrial discharges. Commonly identified chemicals of concern, which are capable of eliciting a range of operational issues, include peroxyacetic acid, quaternary ammonium compounds, amines, surfactants, hypochlorite, and salts. A chemical use survey is often the fastest, most effective, and most economical way to evaluate chemical of concern loading and toxicity. In the absence of data about chemical type or loading as with complex waste streams, toxicity testing can be used to assess acceptable loading rates on a particular treatment system.

OUR (Oxygen Uptake Rate) Setpoint Control and System Recovery

When toxic impacts affect active organisms in biological systems, the amount of time for organisms to degrade material may show significant delay or extension. Days to weeks may be required for treatment conditions to stabilize and return to normal. EnviTreat operated a pilot-scale reactor to measure baseline OUR of an aerobic reactor to evaluate biological process acceleration of a reactor recovering from toxicity impacts. A concurrent sludge storage reactor was operated to house sludge needed for the testing. System recovery was then accelerated by the addition of biomass from the sludge storage reactor.

Download the White Paper to Learn More

Submit the form below to download the white paper on optimization of ENR Operations and receive more thought leadership from EA.


This paper was presented by EnviTreat Director Matt Frigon, PhD, at the Tri-Association Conference in August 2021.

Abstract:

The move toward enhanced nutrient removal (ENR) in wastewater treatment plants has been gaining ground for some time and is the future of wastewater treatment. Proper operation of ENR plants requires an understanding of the fundamentals behind their operation and the issues that may arise that could cause these systems to have poor or inadequate treatment outcomes or failure. This paper is intended to briefly address these issues. An introduction to biological operations for carbon, ammonia, and nitrogen removal is presented. In addition, operational controls based on solids retention time (SRT), the effects of varying SRT, and proper control of SRT are discussed. A method for optimizing SRT using oxygen uptake rates is presented. The importance of macro- (nitrogen and phosphorus) and micro-nutrients (trace minerals) and their effects on plant performance is described. The impact of industrial discharges to a municipal plant—especially chemicals such as peroxyacetic acid and quaternary ammonium compounds (Quats)—and their effect on optimum oxygen uptake rate (OUR) and SRT is also described. Finally, case studies are presented throughout the paper to illustrate topics and findings discussed.

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

745 W 4th Avenue
Suite 425
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-646-0220 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks