× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×


× ×



Ian D. MacFarlane

President, CEO, and Chair

Professional Biography

Ian MacFarlane is the President, CEO, and Chair of EA Engineering, Science, and Technology, Inc., PBC, a U.S. mid-sized environmental consulting services firm serving a wide range of clients in both the government and private sectors with more than 25 commercial offices nationwide, more than 600 employees, and annual revenues of approximately $150M.  Ian has been with EA for over 35 years, working his way up the ranks to his CEO appointment in 2006, representing the second generation of leadership since the firm’s founding in 1973.  He led EA, once a public company, through an ownership transition in 2005 from its founder to employee ownership by an ESOP and management investors.  Further, in 2014, he led EA’s ownership conversion to 100% ESOP and adoption as a Public Benefit Corporation under Delaware corporate law.  Mr. MacFarlane has a bachelor’s degree in geology from Denison University and a master’s degree in management of technology from the University of Pennsylvania (School of Engineering & Wharton).

Principal Volunteer & Philanthropic Activities

  • Greenleaf Center for Servant Leadership: board member 2017-present; current treasurer and chair of the Stewardship and Sustainability Committee.
  • Johns Hopkins University, Department of Environmental Health and Engineering: Department Advisory Board 2012-present, chair 2018-present.
  • Water For People (nonprofit dedicated to global water supply and sanitation): Leadership Council (water industry executives advisory group) member 2016-present, chair 2018-2019.
  • Maryland Higher Education Commission (a Maryland State agency): gubernatorial appointment as a Commissioner (board member) 2012-2020, chair 2020.
  • Roland Park community (a historic community in Baltimore City): association board member for 12 years, president for two years ending in 2018 and finance committee 2018-present; board member of the community foundation 2018-present.

Association Memberships:

  • Academy of Management,
  • Water Environment Federation,
  • Society of American Military Engineers,
  • America Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
  • Active with The ESOP Association (TEA), the Employee-Owned S Corporations of America (ESCA), the National Center for Employee Ownership (NCEO), and Rutgers’ annual Beyster Symposium & Kelso Workshop (academic employee ownership).

Online Presence:



Contact Us



Office Locations

View Map



745 W 4th Avenue
Suite 425
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 Email Mike


3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-646-0210 Email Travis



700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 Email Matthew



555 University Avenue
Suite 182
Sacramento, CA 95825
Sheena Styger P: 916-604-4365 Email Sheena



7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Nathan Jones P: 303 590-9140 Email Nathan



131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 Email Kathy


Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Tommy Bruhn P: 478-308-7375 Email Tommy


1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Billy Janasak P: 671-646-5231 Email Billy



615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 Email Chip



444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 Email Joe


Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 Email Ian

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 Email Michael


1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 Email Scott

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 Email Darl



10321 E. Grand River Ave.,
Suite 600,
Brighton, MI 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 810-206-3042 Email Arthur



54 North Last Chance Gulch
Suite 14
Helena, MT 59601
Catherine LeCours P: 406-936-0022 Email Catherine



221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 Email Dale


7836 Wakeley Plaza
Omaha, NE 68114
Craig Johnson P: 402-817-7664 Email Craig

New Mexico


320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 Email Jay

New York


P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 Email Melanie


82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Sarah Nelson P: 315-342-1419 Email Sarah


Washington Station
333 West Washington Street, Suite 300
Syracuse, New York 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 Email Bob

Rhode Island


301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 Email Ron



405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 Email Roger


11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 Email John

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 Email Brian


Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 Email Chris



2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Jen Martin Bouchard P: 401-287-0376 Email Jen

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks