× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Testing Capabilities 

Aerobic Respirometer Tests

  • Standard Methods 5210.D
  • OECD Method 301: Ready biodegradability
  • EPA, OPPTS 835.3110: Ready biodegradability
  • ISO 7827, 9439, 10707, 10708
  • Intrinsic and extant kinetic tests

Application:  Respirometer tests are used to assess biodegradability of specific organic compounds or the mixture of organic constituents in industrial wastewaters.  Intrinsic kinetic tests are used to provide biodegradation coefficients in enriched culture, single-compound environments.  Extant kinetic tests are used to assess the biodegradation characteristics of specific organic chemicals in a natural environment such as a biological treatment plant.

Anaerobic Respirometer Tests 

  • EPA, OPPTS Method 835.3400:  Anaerobic Biodegradability of Organic Chemicals
  • Intrinsic kinetic tests
  • Anaerobic biomass activity tests
  • Anaerobic toxicity assays (ATA) and biochemical methane potential (BMP) tests

Application:  Anaerobic respirometer tests are used to assess biodegradation characteristics of specific chemicals or the mixture of chemicals in industrial wastewaters.  Intrinsic kinetic tests are used to provide biodegradation coefficients in enriched culture, single-compound environments.  Anaerobic biomass activity tests provide a measure of the maximum rate at which an anaerobic culture converts acetate to methane and to assess the fraction of active biomass in anaerobic cultures.

Bench-Scale Aerobic Reactor Tests 

  • OECD Method 302: Inherent Biodegradability: Modified Semi-Continuous Activated Sludge (SCAS) Test
  • EPA, OPPTS Method 835.3210: Modified SCAS Test
  • EPA Method 304A, Biodegradation Rates
  • OECD Method 303A:  for assessment of the biodegradation of specific chemicals in a sewage treatment environment
  • Custom-designed bench-scale reactor tests

Application:  Bench-scale reactor tests are designed to assess the rate and extent of biodegradation of specific organic chemicals or the mixed constituents of industrial wastes.  The data are used for process selection, design of full-scale treatment facilities, or to assist in the operation of full-scale facilities. Custom bench-scale tests are designed to simulate the operation of full-scale processes and to provide estimates of treatment efficiency, waste biosolids production, and response to inputs of industrial wastes.

Bench-Scale Anaerobic Reactor Tests 

  • Custom-designed bench-scale reactor tests
  • Municipal and industrial sludge treatment

Application:  Bench-scale anaerobic reactor tests are custom-designed by CEL engineers to simulate the operation of full-scale processes and to provide estimates of treatment efficiency, waste biosolids production, and response to inputs of industrial wastes.  Results of our bench-scale tests have been used worldwide as a basis for design of full-scale treatment systems.

Laboratory-Scale Pilot Tests 

  • Capabilities include design and operation of laboratory-scale pilot plants that can be run continuously under simulated full-scale operating conditions

Application:  Laboratory-scale pilot tests allow longer-term operation of treatment units and better measures of performance of reactor performance than can be justified in semi-continuous batch reactors.  These units allow simulation of full-scale operation under a variety of waste loads and operating conditions.  CEL specializes in designing laboratory-scale pilot units that have process similitude with full-sale processes.

Soil and Compost Tests

  • Slurry, static soil, or column tests of biodegradation of organic contaminants in soils
  • EPA, OPPTS 835.5154: Anaerobic biodegradation in the subsurface
  • Compost activity tests using modified ASTM Method D-5975-96.

Application:  Soil tests require special consideration to simulate the conditions in the soil environment.  CEL specializes in using specially designed columns to conduct tests of soils in a near in situ state. Compost samples are tested in essentially the same way as soil tests.

Physical/Chemical Tests

  • Carbon absorption
  • Coagulation/flocculation tests
  • Membrane (microfilter, ultra-filtration, nano-filtration, and RO applications)
  • Granular-media filtration tests

Application:  Physical/chemical tests are used for pretreatment of industrial wastes prior to biological treatment, polishing of biologically treated effluents, and treatment of ground and surface waters for industrial feedstock or drinking water applications.

Standard Tests

  • Chemical analyses
  • GC analysis of volatile and semivolatile organics
  • GC/MS analysis for identification of metabolic intermediates and unknown environmental contaminants

Application:  We conduct standard analytical tests to support the batch, semi-continuous, and continuous test protocols described above.  GC and GC/MS analyses are used as needed to assess fate of specific chemicals and metabolic intermediates in treatment plants and natural environments.

Other Services

  • Onsite pilot tests
  • Forensic evaluations

Application:  We assist engineers and industries in setting up and operating onsite pilot plants for assessment of treatability or development of design parameters.  We also can conduct onsite forensic evaluations to determine cause-and-effect relationships in industrial wastewater treatment plant, or to assess the impact of industrial wastewaters on municipal treatment plants.

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks