× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Water and Wastewater Treatment

Municipal Drinking Water and Wastewater

We understand that safe drinking water is critical to sustainability of everyone; it must be clean and readily available in sufficient quantities to address growth. Wastewater systems are equally as critical and bring challenges when replacing aging infrastructure or expanding existing service.  EA provides a team of scientists, engineers, construction managers, and IT professionals that can address the wide variety of water and wastewater projects facing our clients today across the entire project life cycle.  Typical projects may include:

Drinking Water Wastewater
  • Treatment Process Evaluation and Engineering Design
  • System Vulnerability Assessment
  • Source Water Assessment
  • Hydraulic Modeling
  • Water Balance Assessment
  • Safe Drinking Water Act and Clean Water Act Compliance
  • Permitting
  • Pump Station and Storage Design/Assessment
  • Facility Operations Evaluation
  • Distribution System Analysis for Master Planning
  • Water Leakage Evaluation and Modeling
  • Asset Management
  • Treatment Process Evaluation
  • Treatment System Design/Assessment
  • Pump Station Design/Assessment
  • Collection System Modeling and Design
  • Sludge Management
  • Solids Handling System Design/Assessment
  • Treatability Testing and Toxicity Reduction Evaluations
  • Discharge Permit Assistance
  • Wastewater Characterization and Unique Constituent Monitoring
  • Industrial Pretreatment System Design/Assessment
  • Stormwater Management, Treatment, and Discharge Permitting
  • Local Limits (Headwaters) Evaluation and Policy
  • Asset Management

From feasibility studies, hydraulic modeling, and evaluations to multi-disciplined upgrade with construction management and operation, our over 40-year history in the industry provides us with a foundation to address any project. Our breadth of professionals’ expertise combining engineering with science gives us an advantage to address some of the more unique issues such as source tracking, sustainability, or complex environmental concerns.

Industrial Wastewater

Wastewater treatment is critical to industries throughout the world. Industrial wastewater poses substantial health, safety, environmental, and reputational risks. Even with its endless complexities due to variable product mix, processing requirements, resource limitations, and discharge regulations, it is imperative that management of this necessary byproduct does not deter from an industry’s primary focus. Our consultants spend individualized time with each client to fully understand his/her unique processes, objectives, and constraints in order to complete design, permitting, or consulting projects in a sustainable and economic manner with minimal impact to staff and resources. Our engineers are expert in many types of wastewater treatment from simplest to complex, including:

  • Oil/Water Separation—Oil/water separators and dissolved air flotation.
  • Chemical Treatment—Chromium reduction, cyanide destruction, and Fenton oxidation reaction.
  • Chemical Precipitation—Hydroxide, sulfide, organic precipitants, aluminum and iron salts, bio-coprecipitation, and flocculation (anionic and cationic products by many manufacturers).
  • Biological Treatment—Moving bed bioreactors, membrane bioreactors, biofilters, constructed wetlands, activated sludge, and anaerobic treatment.
  • Clarification—Inclined pate separators, dissolved air flotation, conventional center feed clarifiers, traveling bridge.
  • Filtration—Multi-media filters, nanofiltration, microfilters, and micron cartridge/bag filters.
  • Granular Activated Carbon Adsorbers.
  • Ion Exchange.
  • Electro-deionization.
  • Membrane Separation—Reverse osmosis.
  • Sewage Treatment—Package plants, household scale systems, and biological systems.
  • Sludge Dewatering—Thickening, centrifuge, filter press, and drying beds.

EA’s team also has experience in wastewater across a variety of industries including railroads, airports, power production, metal plating plants, consumer product manufacturers, food and pet food facilities, fiber optics production, agricultural sites, and others.

From NPDES permitting to detailed Process and Instrumentation or three-dimensional BIM design, analysis in our complete wastewater treatability and toxicity laboratories, and operation across a variety of treatment technologies, EA’s team of professionals will provide you with experience.


“…your extraordinary efforts involving the rehabilitation of pump station #1…resulted in total savings to the County of $242,310…We are truly thankful for your efforts to save precious County resources… We consider ourselves fortunate to have such dedicated and conscientious consultants such as you serving our departments and the citizens…” Louise L. Gulyas, President Worcester County, MD Commissioners December 5, 2008

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks