× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

U.S. Coast Guard Property Victory Village Housing, Concord, California

EA, under contract to the General Services Administration for the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG), performed a geophysical and intrusive investigation at the USCG Victory Village Housing Unit, Concord, California due to a historical find of munitions debris at the site.  The primary objective of this investigation was to characterize and quantify surface and subsurface metallic anomalies over unpaved areas to determine if MEC are present at the property and whether follow-on remediation is necessary prior to the property being transferred/sold.

The Victory Village Housing Unit consisted of 27.48 acres adjacent to the Former Naval Weapons Station Concord.  The property contained 206 USCG housing units situated within 43 buildings and an associated housing office building.  For the purposes of this investigation, the 20-millimeter projectile was selected as the minimum geophysical target item of interest, as it is one of the more common projectiles used for training purposes and would have been used/stored at the Former Naval Weapons Station Concord.

A DGM instrument verification strip was established at the site for daily testing of geophysical instrumentation including the EM61-MK2 sensor.  Blind seeds were placed throughout the survey area to ensure detection capabilities were effective during field activities.  Following a surface sweep and blind seeding, a DGM survey was performed over the accessible, unpaved areas on the property.  Unpaved areas that were not accessible to DGM were intrusively investigated via “Mag and Dig” methods.  A total of 3,284 Mag and Dig anomalies were investigated over 4.1 acres.  Based on the DGM survey, 3,258 anomalies were identified as targets of interest based on the potential presence of 20-millimeter projectiles.  Additionally, there were high anomaly density (i.e., saturated) areas identified within the DGM area that may be indicative of debris areas.  A subset of DGM anomalies (683) were intrusively investigated and the types of items found included non-munitions related-debris (i.e., nails, wire, hand tools, pipe, sprinklers, rebar, hardware, and construction debris), and munitions debris that included various parts of high explosives and practice projectiles, bombs, and hand grenades.  No MEC were found during the intrusive investigation.  A total of 20 munitions debris items were found between 4 and 18 inches below ground surface.  All munitions debris were inspected and certified as material documented as safe and was transferred offsite to a recycler for final disposition.

Based on a statistical analysis of the geophysical survey and intrusive results using Visual Sampling Plan statistical software, it was determined with 95 percent confidence that 99.95 percent of the remaining anomalies on the property are not MEC.  The geophysical and intrusive investigation resulted in no identified MEC, further supporting the Visual Sampling Plan statistical analysis that demonstrates a very low probability that MEC are present on the property.  EA has completed all tasks including a final report and the project has been accepted by the General Services Administration and USCG.

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks