× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

On-Call Environmental Site Design and Engineering Services, City of Baltimore Department of Public Works

The City of Baltimore contracted EA to evaluate specific sites within Baltimore City for the potential to implement stormwater BMPs to meet or exceed 22 acres of impervious area treatment, in accordance with the City’s MS4 and total maximum daily load permit-required Watershed Implementation Plan goal.  The City is interested in developing Tier I (upland non-structural) and Tier II (upland structural) practices to treat urban runoff throughout the City.  During the desktop evaluation, EA evaluated over 170 sites provided by the City, as potential BMP locations.  Using available GIS data, EA’s team verified BMP locations provided by the City, in consideration of drainage area, imperviousness, existing utilities locations, and property boundaries.  The Desktop Evaluation identified over 110 sites for field investigation, during which project engineers observed conflicts with the potential to limit BMP development at each site, confirmed drainage areas, and collected site measurements and photos. Desktop Evaluation findings, coupled with field data, allowed engineers to identify preferred BMP types for each site, based on 2000 Maryland Stormwater Design Manual and the City of Baltimore Environmental Site Design Standard Details, and determine concept-level sizing to maximize treatment achieved per practice surface area.  To prioritize cost-effective BMPs, all field verified sites were ranked based on their cost benefit analysis, or assessment of cost per impervious acre treated.  EA proposed that the 70 most cost-effective sites proceed to design phase.

During the design phase, EA developed design at the sites identified, including impervious removal (Tier I) and bioretention, micro-bioretention, and stormwater bumpout (Tier II) facilities.  Facility sizing was conducted in accordance with Environmental Site Design Sizing Criteria (Maryland Department of the Environment [MDE] 2000), treating runoff from 1 inch up to 2.6 inches of rainfall and providing channel protection volume to the maximum extent possible.  Based on the approach typical in the City, facilities were not designed to infiltrate, but were designed with underdrain/overflow tie-ins to the existing storm drain system.  Site designs included development of biddable construction documents, including construction drawings, construction cost estimates, stormwater management report, and permit approvals by required City agencies.  In addition, EA supported the City in development of State Revolving Fund application and reporting requirements to encumber state funding for stormwater management projects.  EA will support the City through pre-construction award services and construction phase services, including contractor selection through submittal review and as-built plan development.  

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks