× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Howard County Total Maximum Daily Load Outfalls/Stream Restoration, Maryland State Highway Administration

image of EA team collecting from a stream

EA developed retrofit design for three existing stormwater outfalls to improve water quality treatment to assist the State Highway Administration (SHAin meeting their nutrient reduction and impervious area treatment goals.  Significant erosion is currently present in the tributary channels adjacent to the outfalls and the scope includes channel improvements to provide stable conveyance and floodplain connectivity.  The outfalls and adjacent tributary channels are being retrofitted to adequately and safely convey drainage while providing credit to SHA for use in helping to meet SHA’s wasteload allocation towards the Chesapeake Bay total maximum daily load.  Restoration is proposed to 2,285 linear feet of outfall and tributary channel which provides 22.9 acres of impervious acre equivalent.  SHA stormwater management standards are being followed for the designs.   

A hydrologic analysis was performed for key study points at each outfall and tributary.  An existing stormwater management facility adjacent to an outfall was analyzed to determine flow characteristics for the 100-year design storm for use in appropriately sizing structures, outfall, and channel bed material.  A hydraulic analysis was performed using HEC-RAS to evaluate channel stability for existing and proposed conditions including the 100-year storm.  Results from the hydraulic analysis and the geomorphic assessment were used in the design of natural channel features, such as step pools, riffle and pool sequences, and plunge pools. Grade control structures were designed to stabilize stream bed and banks by reducing stream slope and flow velocity.  Design included a desktop evaluation and visual assessment of the outfalls and tributaries to determine the project boundary to estimate potential restoration credits. Project constraints such as steep topography, utilities, wetlands, and specimen trees were identified and a geomorphic assessment was performed.  These data were utilized to prepare a concept that addresses the project goals while minimizing environmental resource impacts.  Photographs were taken at each site to document current conditions of the stream and surrounding riparian areas.  During this phase, EA identified additional stream lengths and outfalls not initially identified by SHA as part of the project that were deficient and opportunities for additional total maximum daily load crediting.  After review by SHA, the additional outfall and stream lengths were added to the project scope.   

Construction plans prepared by EA include existing conditions and demolition plan, proposed grading, applicable outfall and channel details for construction, details of instream structures, cross-sections and profiles, and traffic control plans.  EA prepared a detailed design report, construction specifications, and Engineer’s Probable Cost Estimate.  Bid phase services will be provided to assist SHA through the bidding process.  Additionally, construction phase services, including part-time inspections by a stream specialist, will be performed when the project is under construction.  

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks