× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

CERCLA RI/FS, Remedial Design, Remedial Action, and Long-Term Response Action and Other Support Services at State Road 114 Groundwater Plume Superfund Site, Levelland, Texas

image of storage facility

For EPA Region 6, EA designed the cleanup strategy to address a groundwater plume containing benzene, 1,2-dichloroethane, LNAPL, arsenic, and manganese in a sole source high-quality drinking water aquifer at a former petroleum refinery and tank farm.  Major components of the remedy include:  (1) groundwater extraction and treatment system to achieve hydraulic control of the contaminant plume and restore the Ogallala aquifer to its beneficial use as a sole source drinking water supply, (2)  groundwater injection system to return the treated groundwater back to the Ogallala aquifer to enhance aquifer flushing and/or assist in hydraulic control of the plume, and (3) a complex SVE system as a source control measure to remove LNAPL and the organic vapor source in the vadose zone.  The SVE system can be operated both remotely and by onsite personnel and includes 21 groundwater extraction wells and 62 SVE well pairs; a thermal oxidizer for soil vapor treatment; oil and water separation; metals treatment via coagulation or filtration by chemical addition or adsorptive media filters; air stripping; vapor-phase granular activated carbon; and treated groundwater re-injection.  From 2009 to 2013, off-gas from the air strippers and extracted vapors from the SVE system were treated via zeolite wheel concentrator/cryogenic-compression and condensation (C3) for removal of VOCs.  During its 52 months of operation, the C3 system recovered 357,000 gallons of a commercially viable petroleum distillate, which was sold to a commercial fuel blender for re-blending.  The sale of the recovered distillate resulted in over $221,000 in credits applied to the project.  In 2013, EA participated in an Optimization Review, which recommended an alternative treatment system.  EA designed and installed a thermal oxidation treatment system to manage the SVE system vapors, and provided construction support to EPA during decommissioning of the C3 treatment system.  The thermal oxidizer was activated in November 2016, and has removed 2.3 million pounds of total volatile hydrocarbons and 12,885 pounds of benzene through December 2018.  EA is currently conducting long-term response action activities, including daily monitoring, O&M, performance monitoring and operation and maintenance sampling, groundwater modeling to evaluate the effectiveness of the remedy, and preparation of annual O&M reports.  EA hired local treatment plant operators for the system.  The operators live in the vicinity of the site and provide daily oversight without incurring per diem costs.  EA utilizes Scribe for field data management, and provides data to CLP laboratories using EPA-specified protocols.

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks