× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

EA Engineering, Science, and Technology, Inc., PBC Supports Engineers of Tomorrow

Hunt Valley, Maryland (22 March 2019)—EA Engineering, Science, and Technology, Inc., PBC (EA), a leading provider of interdisciplinary environmental services, announced today that its employees continue to promote science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) education and mentor future engineers and scientists during National Engineers Week activities in New York and Maryland.

For the 17th consecutive year, local high school students collaborated with EA professionals in Hunt Valley, Maryland for a day and completed a simulated environmental project as part of Day with an Engineer.  The students performed experiments in EA’s Ecotoxicology Laboratory, participated in equipment demonstrations, conducted research, and presented their solution to a panel for critique.  More than 15 EA employees and 14 students participated in the event, which is annually sponsored by the Baltimore Post of the Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) and held in conjunction with National Engineers Week, which ran from 18 through 23 February 2019.

According to EA’s Maryland Day with an Engineer event organizer, Regina Cagle Irr, PE, “Giving students a chance to see what engineering ‘looks’ like is integral to Day with an Engineer outreach. Once they’ve seen what engineers do, they can envision themselves becoming future engineers and scientists.  We hope all of the students we hosted left inspired and feeling more confident to move forward with their STEM studies following graduation.”

Additionally, engineers from EA’s upstate New York offices co-organized and participated in the SAME Buffalo Post’s first annual Day with an Engineer in cooperation with the Girl Scouts of Western New York.  Held at the Buffalo Museum of Science on 18 February, groups of up to 6 girls rotated through 11 tables each sponsored by a different organization.  Aspiring engineers worked through a demonstration at each table where topics and activities included:  straw bridge design, experimentation with surface tension, interacting with a watershed model, and a hands-on demonstration of a car crash simulator.  EA engineers helped participants build a water filter using common household materials, and then demonstrated the effectiveness of each design by introducing simulated contaminants and testing the ability of the filters to screen out soil particles, litter, and the mock chemical contaminants.

“Over the course of their lives, students of all ages are exposed to the careers they see in their day-to-day lives:  teachers, health care professionals, entertainers, and the careers of their parents and close family members,” says Caryn Kiehl-Simpson, PE, an environmental engineer.  “They may read or otherwise have cursory exposure to STEM-related careers that peak an interest, but the experience of actually meeting someone, learning the specifics of what they do, and having the opportunity to interact with engineers and scientists can have a profound effect on cementing their desire to pursue STEM educations and careers.”

About EA Engineering, Science, and Technology, Inc., PBC
EA is a 100% employee-owned public benefit corporation that provides environmental, compliance, natural resources, and infrastructure engineering and management solutions to a wide range of public and private sector clients.  Headquartered in Hunt Valley, Maryland, EA employs more than 500 professionals through a network of 26 commercial offices across the continental United States, as well as Alaska, Hawaii, and Guam.  In business for more than 45 years, EA has earned an outstanding reputation for technical expertise, responsive service, and judicious use of client resources.  For more information about EA, visit www.eaest.com.

CONTACT:
Melissa Smith
EA Engineering, Science, and Technology, Inc., PBC
225 Schilling Circle, Suite 400
Hunt Valley, Maryland 21031
410-329-5116
masmith@eaest.com
www.eaest.com

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks