× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Mahsa Modiri Gharehveran Expands EA’s Research Capabilities Focused on Emerging Contaminants

Mahsa Modiri-GharehveranHunt Valley, Maryland (21 April 2022)—EA Engineering, Science, and Technology, Inc., PBC (EA), a leading provider of interdisciplinary environmental services, is pleased to announce that Mahsa Modiri Gharehveran, Ph.D., has joined the firm as a senior scientist and engineer. She will play a critical role in the firm’s ongoing emerging contaminants consulting services and research, focusing specifically on per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances—forever chemicals often referred to as PFAS— as well as support investigation and cleanup efforts for public and private sector clients and engineering work for wastewater treatment plants. Her addition to the EA team continues the firm’s long history and commitment to hiring highly qualified individuals and experts within technical disciplines.

“Industry understanding of the potential impacts of PFAS and other emerging contaminants continues to evolve, and EA’s research, characterization, and remediation work is helping define the science,” said Paul Caprio, P.G., Vice President and Director, Chemicals and Contaminants of Emerging Concern. “Mahsa will support our research and development work with the federal government.”

Mahsa joins EA with nearly a decade of experience that includes research, wastewater and water treatment, environmental remediation, laboratory testing, and modeling. Prior to joining EA, she worked as a Post-Doctoral Research Assistant and Graduate Research Assistant at Purdue University. Mahsa has co-authored numerous research papers that have been published in professional peer-reviewed journals, including “Transformation and Defluorination by nNi0Fe0-Activated Carbon Nanocomposites: PFAS Structure and Matrix Effects,” in the Journal of Environmental Chemical Engineering,Prediction of the shear modulus of municipal solid waste (MSW): An application of the machine learning techniques,” in the Journal of Cleaner Production in 2021, and “Release of poly- and perfluoroalkyl substances from finished biosolids in soil mesocosms” in the Journal of Water Resources this year. She has also authored several papers focused on PFAS that are currently under peer review.

“Mahsa brings a wealth of knowledge to our team in both analytical chemistry and engineering expertise,” said Jamie Suski, Ph.D., EA senior scientist and leader of EA’s PFAS-related research projects. “Her ability to apply this knowledge through both research and project outlets will continue to elevate the firm’s strong technical and scientific initiatives.”

Mahsa earned a Doctor of Environmental Engineering degree from Purdue University, a Master of Science degree in Water Engineering from the Iran University of Science and Technology, and a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Tabriz University. She is certified by the State of Texas as an Engineer-in-Training. Mahsa is an active scientific/peer reviewer for multiple technical journals, including the Environmental Science: Water Research & Technology, Environmental Science and Pollution Research, and the American Society of Civil Engineers Journal of Materials in Civil Engineering.

About EA Engineering, Science, and Technology, Inc., PBC

EA is a 100% employee-owned public benefit corporation that provides environmental, compliance, natural resources, and infrastructure engineering and management solutions to a wide range of public and private sector clients. Headquartered in Hunt Valley, Maryland, EA employs more than 575 professionals through a network of 26 commercial offices across the continental United States, as well as Alaska, Hawaii, and Guam. In business for more than 48 years, EA has earned an outstanding reputation for technical expertise, responsive service, and judicious use of client resources. For more information about EA, visit www.eaest.com.

CONTACT:
Amy Lambert
EA Engineering, Science, and Technology, Inc., PBC
225 Schilling Circle, Suite 400
Hunt Valley, Maryland 21031
410-527-2470
alambert@eaest.com

×

Contact Us

Name

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

745 W 4th Avenue
Suite 425
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-646-0220 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Montana

Helena

54 North Last Chance Gulch
Suite 14
Helena, MT 59601
Catherine LeCours P: 406-936-0022 clecours@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

Omaha

7836 Wakeley Plaza
Omaha, NE 68114
Craig Johnson P: 402-817-7664 craigjohnson@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks