× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Life Cycle Management of Fuel Storage Tanks

Fuel storage tank systems are commonly used to store fuel for emergency generators, backup feed for boilers, and for vehicle and aircraft fueling. Infrastructure maintenance, capital planning, and environmental compliance go hand in hand in our fast-paced world. These fuel systems, like other mechanical infrastructure, have estimated service lives based on initial design/installation, operations and maintenance programs, usage, and site conditions. For example, if well maintained, underground storage tank (UST) system service lives are often set at 30 years, which is generally the benchmark used for insurance companies to determine risk. Conversely, aboveground storage tank (AST) systems could last longer if well maintained.

Fuel Storage Tank - Gas Station

Fuel Storage Tank Compliance

Howard County Fuel Storage Tank InspectionCompliance is an ongoing challenge to owners and operators of fuel storage tank systems. What was compliant at the time of installation may not be compliant later. Approaches to storage tank compliance should focus on preparing for the future while also maintaining existing assets and fueling system components. The latter must include establishing an operational and maintenance program that aligns with industry standards and regulatory compliance components. Routine visual inspections and tank, line, and sump testing are critical components.

Developing and integrating compliance tools into routine visual inspections allow inspectors to use the latest mobile and asset management technology to create efficiencies in the field and facilitate compliance reporting to assist owners and operators with maintaining their overall environmental compliance. Our technicians are familiar with numerous off-the-shelf solutions frequently utilized by private and municipal owners. EA has developed custom data collection applications using geospatial and other open-source software, and offered a robust subscription-based compliance portal for larger and more complex programs. These programs allow field crews and program managers to capitalize on a single source of data entry for analysis and report preparation.

Fuel Storage Tank TestingEA recently expanded our capabilities to include storage tank testing and tank monitoring certifications to complement the firm’s existing fuel system design and compliance work. The addition of in-house certified focused on fuel storage tank testing allows the firm to better serve our clients throughout a facility’s entire life cycle—planning, design, installation, operations and maintenance, and decommissioning. Many issues can be identified during routine compliance testing, which will ultimately support the owners by minimizing the potential of costly enforcement regulatory actions. While most testing firms only deliver a failing test result before turning the concern back to the owner, the EA team partners with clients to provide consulting services on potential next steps including executing corrective actions to achieve a passing result. Recommendations could range from a simple fitting or flex line replacement to a new system. Through our combined years of experience, we provide unique perspectives and different alternatives to match an array of operational needs and budget limitations. This in-depth knowledge and awareness of owner/operator financial and time constraints lead to sound solutions rooted in experience and understanding of future regulatory and industry changes.

Installation/Replacement

When a decision is made to either install or replace a storage tank system, owners and/or operators should consider the following, at a minimum:

  • Current and future land use at the property
  • Site constraints including space for aboveground storage tanks (ASTs) versus USTs, traffic flow, and potential subsurface and overhead utilities
  • Sizing of storage tank systems to meet current and/or projected demand and ensure sufficient throughput to prevent degradation of fuel
  • Compliance regulations pertaining to type and size of fuel system
  • Code requirements for construction
  • Cost to construct and maintain.

To increase cost efficiency and expedite schedules, we have established design/build partnerships with local tank contractors and county agencies. The work to date includes two completed design/builds and three in progress. Development of a shovel-ready design set for permitting with local Authorities Having Jurisdiction improves permitting outcomes and often accelerates processing times.

EA recently completed design plans to replace a UST with an AST system at a county-owned compost facility. Two existing 28-year-old tanks (2,500- and 6,000-gallon diesel) were used to fuel motor vehicles on-site. Through proactive management decisions and foresight, the county elected to get ahead of the 30‑year service life timeframe and replace the two underground tanks with one AST system. Compliance played a significant role in the decision to move the fuel aboveground—with all components easily accessible for inspection by county personnel. To support the effort, our team developed a permit-ready set of plans that included civil, mechanical, structural, and electrical design details for submittal to the county permitting agency. By utilizing EA as a subcontracted design firm, the client was able to track permitting so that the AST system could be manufactured and delivered to the site around the time the permit was anticipated to be approved. The design team remained available as questions arose during construction.

 


EA’s fuel storage tank program is a full-service program that includes the following:

  • Design/permitting/bid/construction phase services for owners

  • Design/build partnerships with local storage tank contractors

  • Routine compliance inspections including:

    • State-certified UST inspections

    • SP001 AST inspections

    • Monthly and annual periodic inspections for UST and AST systems

  • Regulatory compliance testing of UST and AST systems

  • Automatic tank gauge certifications and troubleshooting

  • Pollution prevention best management practice leak detection testing

  • Minor repairs and corrective actions/service to existing systems

  • UST Operator Training to comply with 40 CFR 280/state regulations along with full development of Program of Instruction materials

  • Fuel system evaluations and optimization of compliance testing requirements

  • Regulatory review and policy development/support

  • Compliance plan development including Spill Prevention Control and Countermeasure Plans and state-specific Oil Operations Permits


Nelson BrooksFor more information, contact:
Nelson Brooks, P.E., P.G.
Senior Project Manager

×

Contact Us

Name

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

745 W 4th Avenue
Suite 425
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-646-0220 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Montana

Helena

54 North Last Chance Gulch
Suite 14
Helena, MT 59601
Catherine LeCours P: 406-936-0022 clecours@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

Omaha

7836 Wakeley Plaza
Omaha, NE 68114
Craig Johnson P: 402-817-7664 craigjohnson@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks