× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Atlantic Wood Industries Superfund Site, Portsmouth, Virginia; EPA Region 3

Under contract to EPA Region 3, EA has provided environmental services over the past 10 years at the Atlantic Wood Industries Superfund site, a former wood treating site, on the Elizabeth River in Portsmouth, Virginia.  The Atlantic Wood Industries site consists of approximately 48 acres of land in the industrialized waterfront area of the Southern Branch of the Elizabeth River in Portsmouth, Virginia.  From 1926 to 1992, a wood treating facility operated at the site using both creosote and pentachlorophenol.  As a result of historical site operations, sediments in the Elizabeth River contained visible creosote.  The groundwater and soil at the site are also heavily contaminated with creosote.  Creosote contamination previously migrated into a storm sewer and discharged to an inlet of the Elizabeth River.

EA was the prime contractor for four major environmental remediation projects; all four projects were implementation of EA designs.  This effort involved EA placing daily, full-time construction management/inspection staff for the duration of construction activities.  Typical duties involved planning of the work, managing subcontractors, conducting quality assurance/quality control inspections, providing safety compliance, generating daily reports for EPA, generating monthly invoices, and documenting the progress of the work by generating final Remedial Action Reports.  These services have been provided to complete the following projects:

  • Excavation of contaminated soil from along a roadway and construction of perimeter berms for a future confined disposal facility for contaminated dredged material (2010–2011).
  • Construction of a riverside containment berm that will form one side of an aquatic-based disposal facility for contaminated dredged materials (2011).
  • Relocation of a major storm drain through highly contaminated soil to a river discharge.  The pipelines were placed in a polyethylene trench to help keep creosote contamination away from the pipelines.  Due to a very high local groundwater, an extensive dewatering system was necessary.  Four large concrete junction boxes were also constructed (2013).
  • Regrading and filling of approximately 150,000 cubic yards of amended sediments for an onsite landfill.  The completed site will be re-usable for production and storage space by the onsite industry.  Significant stormwater management and geotechnical challenges were present on this project (2018 – ongoing).

In addition, EA provided construction phase engineering services for three other projects, all designed by EA.  Typical services for these projects included review of contractor submittals, periodic onsite inspections, responses to contractor requests for information, participation in regular meetings and progress conference calls, any necessary engineering during the construction phase, and review and approval of as-built drawings.

  • The in situ stabilization/solidification of a former water pond area. This involved the mixing of a reagent (organophilic clay and cement) with 43,000 cubic yards of contaminated soil below the water table.
  • The construction of a 1,100 foot-long steel sheet pile retaining wall placed in the Elizabeth River.
  • The environmental dredging of 350,000 cubic yards of contaminated sediment within the Elizabeth River.
×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks