× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Water Quality and Nutrient Removal Project, St. Mary’s County Department of Public Works and Transportation

The St. Mary’s County Department of Public Works maintains stormwater management facilities across the County, and contracted EA to provide survey, design, and permitting for 15 public stormwater management pond retrofits, in order to maximize water quality treatment provided at each site.  The project obtained Chesapeake Bay grant funding from the Maryland Department of Natural Resources, and allowed the County to work toward its Watershed Implementation Plan goals for reduction of total nitrogen, total phosphorusand total suspended solids from stormwater.    

A pre-design investigation was conducted at each site, and included a desktop analysis, field investigation, topographic survey, geotechnical investigation, and delineation of wetland and stream features classified as Jurisdictional Waters of the United States.  Concept retrofit design considered physical feasibility, existing site conditions, standard stormwater management practices, and regulatory requirements, including pathway to permit approval.  Stormwater management needs were evaluated in accordance with the 2000 Maryland Stormwater Design Manual Volumes I and II and the St. Mary’s County Stormwater Management, Grading, and Erosion and Sediment Control Ordinance.  The existing pollutant loading at each site was determined based on Chesapeake Bay Water Model loading rates; the proposed facility pollutant removal efficiency was based on Chesapeake Bay Program documents; and the load removal calculations were based on MDE (2014) guidance, “Accounting for Stormwater Waste Load Allocations.”  Chesapeake Bay Water Model Version 5.2.1 (2014) loading rates for total nitrogentotal phosphorus, and total suspended solids were utilized to determine existing pollutant loading, in order to maintain consistency with MDE methodologies.   

Retrofit designs were determined based on uniform stormwater sizing criteria for the state of Maryland for treatment and storage of stormwater runoff, maximizing the sediment and nutrient load reductions for each site, and minimizing construction costs to meet the available grant funding ($3.9M).  Due to the limited guidance for retrofit designs, EA worked closely with the St. Mary’s County Soil Conservation District and NRCS to develop technically acceptable retrofit designs that ensured impacts identified were avoided or minimized.  Proposed retrofits included rehabbing existing pond embankments, and integrating micro-scale facilities (i.e., submerged gravel wetlands) into existing facilities where possible.  During design development, review of sites for Small Pond Code 378 compliance identified four sites requiring dam breach analysis.  For these sites, cross-section locations were determined near features of concern (structures and driveways) and peak flows for a sunny day breach (no rain, all low flow orifices and weirs clogged, pool stage set at crest of riser) were developed using the National Weather Service dam break equation, and run in HEC-RAS to develop stages and velocities.  The analysis of the four sites determined that no identified structures would be at risk, no breach zones would result in a high danger zone within the channel area, and all breach zones in the overbank area would have a very low danger zone. 

Final design documents developed included construction plan details, notes, quantities, costs estimates, and specifications.  In addition, EA obtained permit approvals for the proposed work, after working closely with USACE, MDE, and NRCS throughout design development.  In 2017, construction of 13 existing stormwater management facilities throughout St. Mary’s County having minimal water quality features were retrofitted to provide additional treatment using modern wet ponds and submerged gravel/wetlands.  A total of 207 impervious acres were treated, resulting in the reduction of 1,170 pounds of nitrogen reduction per year, and 129 pounds of phosphorous reduction per year.  This project provided 90% of the total Phase II Watershed Implementation Plan nitrogen removal goal of 1,300 pounds of nitrogen per year.

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks