× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Supplemental Phase II Operational Range Assessment, Camp Smith Army National Guard Training Site, New York

An ORA Phase II, conducted at Camp Smith, New York in 2012, confirmed that lead was migrating off-range within surface water at levels that posed a risk to benthic organisms in the non-operational portion of Putnam Brook and the Camp Smith tidal marsh.  In response to finding of the ORA Phase II, Army National Guard initiated a Supplemental Phase II to focus on evaluating the nature and extent of lead impacts to surface water and sediment in the tidal marsh and the potential risks to human and/or ecological receptors in the off-range area of the tidal marsh.

The Supplemental Phase II was conducted at Camp Smith in three phases between June 2014 and November 2015.  The phased sampling included the collection of bulk chemistry data (metals in surface water/sediment), fish tissue for metals analysis, simultaneously extracted metals/acid volatile sulfide analysis (sediment), and geotechnical characterization. The Supplemental Phase II indicated that metals associated with upstream ranges were bound in on-range tidal marsh sediments and were unlikely to migrate off-range at concentrations that posed a risk to human health or the environment.

While the results of the Supplemental Phase II indicated that no metals were migrating from the operational ranges at levels that posed an unacceptable risk; and, the range configuration was expected to limit future lead deposition and/or migration of metals into Putnam Brook, the berm and Putnam Brook stream bed at the base of the berm remained a source of metals which needed to be addressed.

An investigation into the impact berm associated with Range 1A/1B was conducted.  Projectile count data indicated that a significant mass of metals MC were present within the historical impact berm and Putnam Brook floodplain area associated with the range.  X‑ray fluorescence results indicated that lead was binding to site soils and being mobilized from the range into Putnam Brook and the associated floodplain.

Based upon results of the investigation, a focused feasibility evaluation was performed to screen actions that could be implemented at the Camp Smith tidal marsh and Range 1A/1B to help mitigate off-range migration and potential future impacts to human health and the environment.  Additionally, EA recommended that the other small arms ranges at Camp Smith be evaluated for the suitability of implementing range specific best management practices that could be implemented to limit migration of metals from on-range source areas.

It was recommended that the hot spots of contamination be removed and transported offsite for disposal and that an embankment be constructed upstream of Range 1A/1B to control stormwater and erosion.  In addition, EA recommended that Camp Smith conduct annual monitoring of surface water and sediments to assess the potential for MC metals migration off the installation.

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks