× ×

Who We Are

× ×

About EA

× ×

Careers

× ×

Subcontractors/Suppliers

×

Jeff Black Fellows

Inspirational Leaders of EA’s Legacy Postdoctoral Fellowship Program

Jeff Black – In the Natural, Living Environment

EA was founded in the early 1970s as an ecological consulting firm; indeed EA’s original name was Ecological Analysts, Inc. before being changed in the 1980s to reflect a broader spectrum of professional services.  Nevertheless, ecology and the water and natural resource sciences remain a thriving and distinctive element of the firm’s ongoing competence.  EA’s heritage in applied ecology was epitomized by one of our long-tenured senior scientists, Dr. Jeffrey (Jeff) Black.

Jeff earned his Ph.D. and M.S. in Environmental Health Sciences from University of Michigan and a B.S. in Biology from University of Toledo.  Jeff was a charter and avid member of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry where he was on the Board of Directors, Aquatic Toxicology Editor for the Journal of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry, and held leadership positions on many committees including Long Range Planning and Publications committees.

Jeff began his professional career as a faculty member at the University of Kentucky where he and Dr. Wes Birge pioneered the development of short-termed procedures to assess chronic effects of toxicants on aquatic organisms and development of a short-term fish embryo and larvae test for the assessment of teratogenicity; many of these tests are still used today.  Jeff left the University of Kentucky to lead EA’s aquatic toxicology practice where he was actively involved in many of EA’s activities including Manager of EA’s Ecotoxicology Laboratory and serving as EA’s Analytical Laboratory Director for many years through the 1990s, until his early passing in 1998.

Although Jeff had a gift of limerick, where he was known to go toe-to-toe with anyone for hours never repeating the same one, his first love as a scientist was the mentoring of young professionals.  Always the patient teacher with an unassuming manner, he spent countless time and energy directed toward professional development of his students, staff, colleagues, and clients.  Many of Jeff’s students and colleagues continue to make significant national and international contributions in the field of aquatic toxicology and are represented by university faculty, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and other agency researchers, as well as industry representatives and environmental consultants.  Jeff’s strong combination of scientific expertise and mentor-ship of young professionals made him a unique and treasured asset, often called upon in the early developmental years of ecotoxicology research and innovative test development.

 

×

Contact Us

×

Office Locations

View Map

Alaska

Anchorage

711 H Street
Suite 330
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mike Jones P: 907-334-3909 mjones@eaest.com

Fairbanks

3544 International Way
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Travis Hines P: 907-456-4751 thines@eaest.com

Arkansas

Fayetteville

700 Research Center Blvd
Suite 2221
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Matthew Frigon, PhD P: 479-575-2136 mfrigon@eaest.com

California

Sacramento

555 University Avenue
Suite 110
Sacramento, CA 95825
Chris Canonica P: 916-604-4365 ccanonica@eaest.com

Colorado

Denver

7995 E Prentice Ave.
Suite 206E
Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Sarah Babcock P: 303-590-9140 sbabcock@eaest.com

Delaware

Newark

131 Continental Drive
Suite 203
Newark, DE 19713
Kathy Fox P: 302-467-3025 kfox@eaest.com

Georgia

Warner Robins

108 Byrd Way
Suite 600
Warner Robins, GA 31088-9199
Nick Jewett P: 478-308-7375 njewett@eaest.com

Guam

1001 Army Drive
Suite 103
Barrigada, GU 96913-1402
Bob Shambach P: 671-646-5231 rshambach@eaest.com

Hawaii

Honolulu

615 Piikoi Street
Suite 515
Honolulu, HI 96814
Chip Brown P: 808-589-1455 cbrown@eaest.com

Illinois

Chicago

444 Lake Cook Road
Suite 18
Deerfield, IL 60015
Joe Vondruska P: 847-945-8010 jvondruska@eaest.com

Maryland

Corporate Headquarters

225 Schilling Circle
Suite 400
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ian MacFarlane P: 410-584-7000 imacfarlane@eaest.com

Ecotoxicology & Biology Labs

231 Schilling Circle
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Michael Chanov P: 410-584-7000 mchanov@eaest.com

Abingdon

1311 Continental Drive
Suite K
Abingdon, MD 21009
Scott Dobson P: 410-671-6051 sdobson@eaest.com

Ocean Pines

11200 Racetrack Road
Unit A101
Ocean Pines, MD 21811
Darl Kolar P: 410-641-5341 dkolar@eaest.com

Michigan

Brighton

5918 Meridian Boulevard
Suite 4
Brighton, Michigan 48116
Arthur Peitsch P: 734-369-3410 apeitsch@eaest.com

Nebraska

Lincoln

221 Sun Valley Blvd
Suite D
Lincoln, NE 68528
Dale Schlautman P: 402-476-3766 dschlautman@eaest.com

New Mexico

Albuquerque

320 Gold Avenue, SW
Suite 1300
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Jay Snyder P: 505-224-9013 jsnyder@eaest.com

New York

Marlboro

P.O. Box 144
25 Western Avenue, 2nd Floor
Marlboro, NY 12542
Melanie Dina P: 845-565-8100 mdina@eaest.com

Oswego

82-B Creamery Road
Oswego, NY 13126
Gary Prye P: 315-342-1419 gprye@eaest.com

Syracuse

269 W Jefferson Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Bob Casey P: 315-431-4610 rcasey@eaest.com

Rhode Island

Providence

301 Metro Center Blvd
Suite 102
Warwick, RI 02886-3440
Ron Mack P: 401-736-3440 rmack@eaest.com

Texas

Dallas

405 State Highway 121 (Bypass)
Building C, Suite 100
Lewisville, TX 75067
Roger Place P: 972-315-3922 rplace@eaest.com

Houston

11550 Cypress N Houston Rd
Cypress, TX 77429
John Bonner P: 832-912-4038 jbonner@eaest.com

San Antonio

13750 San Pedro Ave.
Suite B10
San Antonio, TX 78232
Brian O'Ferrall P: 210-546-2129 boferrall@eaest.com

Utah

Salt Lake City

2363 N. Hill Field Road
Suite 104
Layton, UT 84041
Sandy Staigerwald P: 385-393-4982 sstaigerwald@eaest.com

Virginia

Virginia Beach

4429 Bonney Road
Suite 430
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Chris Penny P: 757-693-6014 cpenny@eaest.com

Washington

Seattle

2200 6th Avenue
Suite 707
Seattle, WA 98121
Tim McCormack P: 206-452-5350 tmccormack@eaest.com

EA Satellite Residential locations (Contact 1-800-777-9750)

Scottsdale, AZ

Lee Becker

Dunedin, FL

Rick Hanoski

North Salem, IN

Matthew Bowman

Overland Park, KS

James Beaver

Incline Village, NV

Loren Jensen

Dover, NH

Amy Hunt

Pennsville, NJ

John Fellinger

Spencerport, NY

Caryn Kiehl-Simpson

Lubbock, TX

Danny Leaks